|

Ok, so you've installed Snapchat on your iPhone or Android device and taken some hilarious/incriminating/risque photos and videos. That's all great fun, but maybe now you're tired of the app, getting a bit paranoid or have just decided to move on.

So how do you make sure your account is closed and your photos deleted? Read on to find out...

1. Uninstall the app

iPhone: just long-hold the icon on iOS and wait for the x to appear. Press the x, and confirm the uninstall. Simple!

Android: go to Settings > Applications > Snapchat and hit Uninstall.

2. Delete your account

To make sure you've really washed Snapchat out of your hair, you're also going to need to delete your account. This is simple: just go to the Snapshot account delete page, enter your username and password and confirm deletion. The Snapchat developers warn you that this could take up to 48 hours.

Delete you Snapchat account

3. What about my pictures?

The whole point of Snapchat is that your photos are temporary and, no matter what, deleted after a few seconds. As people like to point out, once something is on the internet, it can never be removed, but for most people, Snapchat's deletion works just fine. Recovering the photos would be a costly and time-consuming process. Unless your photos are of interest to the FBI, for example, we don't think you have much to worry about.

That said, think back over your Snapchat history. When you take a snap, you can save the image to your own phone, so make sure there are none you have forgotten about lurking on your device. It would also be possible for someone to have taken a screenshot of your photo, but Snapshot would have warned you if they had. Finally, it's not out of the realm of possibility that someone could have used a camera or second phone to take a picture of your picture. That's much harder to legislate against, but, then again, you wouldn't have used Snapshot if you weren't happy with a little risk. Right?!

Commented

  • Rachel |
    29/05/13
    Rachel

    if there are pictures you sent that were never opened by the recipient before you delete your account will they be deleted too or will the recipient still be able to open them after i have deleted my account?

  • .... |
    12/06/13
    ....

    THANK YOU SO MUCH!Very helpful.

  • Mohammed |
    23/06/13
    Mohammed

    if you cant delete someone, will deleting snapchat make them go away?

  • Grace |
    27/06/13
    Grace

    Thx

  • INEEDHELP |
    02/07/13
    INEEDHELP

    will other people still see my deleted account? for example can they see who where my best friends?

  • Hotly girl |
    02/07/13
    Hotly girl

    How do u delete snapkids?

  • Luke |
    17/07/13
    Luke

    if there are pictures you sent that were never opened by the recipient before you delete your account will they be deleted too or will the recipient still be able to open them after i have deleted my account?

  • please help |
    23/07/13
    please help

    How do I get my name off others friends list I've deleted my account on the given website but can still see my username on others phones

  • Someone you don't know |
    29/07/13
    Someone you don't know

    I don't even know what I'm username is :(

  • royjstanley |
    30/07/13
    royjstanley

    how do I delete my snapkidz account???

18/04/14
Your avatar