|

A beta version of the next Windows Live suite has leaked to torrent sites and, as eager as we always are to test new software, we couldn't help downloading it and giving it  a try. It seems that the new Windows Live Messenger will be the star of the suite again, though Microsoft has also given an important role to Facebook and social networks. So, would you like to know what the new Live Messenger 2010 looks like? Let's take a look.

Windows Live Messenger 2010 Preview

Unfortunately, we have to start with some bad news: Windows Live 2010 is not compatible with Windows XP. In a move clearly designed to encourage everyone to upgrade to Windows 7, Microsoft has decided to leave good old XP out of Messenger. Switching to a Windows 7 machine, we completed the installation in a few minutes. The process is very similar to that of the current version and installs a bunch of Live apps besides Messenger: Writer, Movie Maker, Photo Gallery, Mail, the Parental Control tool and the Bing toolbar.

Windows Live Messenger 2010 Preview

When running Windows Live Messenger 2010 for the first time, we were surprised to see that Microsoft has finally included a 'social' side to its popular IM client. This is in fact the new default view, with status updates and a summary of your contacts' latest activities:

Windows Live Messenger 2010 Preview

Windows Live Messenger 2010 PreviewThe status message in Live Messenger has become an update like the ones we publish on Twitter or Facebook. Highlighted elements appear on the left side pane, while the contacts are listed on the right. Also, there's a very interesting button in the bottom right corner: it features a Facebook icon to integrate your profile in Live Messenger. I wonder if we'll see more social network icons joining this drop-down menu.

Besides this new social view, you still have the classic view available. It's now called Contacts Mode and can be enabled by clicking the little pane icon on the top right corner.

Windows Live Messenger 2010 Preview

The interface is a lot cleaner and features text labels instead of the confusing buttons used in previous versions. The bottom area is devoted to ads, as usual, whereas the mail button, which used to notify you of new messages in your Hotmail account, is gone.

Windows Live Messenger 2010 Preview

The chat window still features the same design as in version 2009, with large sized avatars and color-coded frames to indicate your current status. The big news is on top of the window. Can you see what it is yet? Yes, a tab bar! Microsoft has finally included support for tabbed chat windows in Messenger.

Windows Live Messenger 2010 Preview

The emoticons in Windows Live Messenger 2010 have been slightly redesigned. There are new ones (like the guy with glasses and mustache, or the faces to express disapproval), though none of them represent a real change. On the other side, Live Messenger has improved its integration with Windows 7 a lot and makes the most of the operating system's features.

Windows Live Messenger 2010 Preview

This first downloadable version of Windows Live Messenger 2010 raises a lot of questions. The first - and obvious - one: will Microsoft really leave Windows XP out of this new version of Messenger? Has the app's code really changed that much? Or is this incompatibility due to other Live apps, like Movie Maker?

Another question concerns the lack of really outstanding new features. Sure, this is only a beta version, but is Microsoft being too cautious when it comes to implement social networks in Live Messenger? I'm looking forward to seeing  see how this integration is presented in the final version... meanwhile, what do you think about the new Windows Live Messenger 2010?

Download Windows Live Messenger 14 from Softonic here.

[Via: OnSoftware ES]

Commented

  • Isaac |
    24/03/10
    Isaac

    it's a mix of WLM, twitter and iChat ¬¬

  • wajdan |
    29/03/10
    wajdan

    i am w8ing this :P

  • behnam |
    30/03/10
    behnam

    We can't use this in Window Vista :(

  • Risheen |
    01/04/10
    Risheen

    Real nice piece of neo-tech, techys will love it!

  • daveo76 |
    06/04/10
    daveo76

    That link downloads the version 9 not 2010

  • Tomas |
    06/04/10
    Tomas

    Hi daveo76!

    Yeah, we're linking to our review of WLM 2009 because WLM 2010 is not officially available for download yet.

    Cheers, Elena

  • adafvour |
    01/05/10
    adafvour

    i want to install windows live messenger

  • cesar b severo |
    02/05/10
    cesar b severo

    eu gostaria de destar o novo msn 2010 okei me falarão que é muinto bom e elegante

  • Windows Live Messenger 2010 « The Bad Band – LA BANDA DE LOS CULPABL |
    03/05/10
    Windows Live Messenger 2010 « The Bad Band – LA BANDA DE LOS CULPABL

    [...] Windows Live Messenger 2010 Preview (onsoftware.en.softonic.com) Comments RSS feed [...]

  • Barb |
    15/11/10
    Barb

    I have windowsXP Pro. I was told by 5 of my friends NOT to download and install Windows Live Messenger 2011. My friends it it the WORST version of messenger that Microsoft has come out with. I was told windows live messenger 2010 was not compatible with windows XP. Any suggestions of which live messenger I should download and install?

  • MD. Rajib Bhuiyan |
    02/12/10
    MD. Rajib Bhuiyan

    I am a jobholder. i am finding a life pertner who will be for my forever.

  • sherbert |
    02/12/10
    sherbert

    let me download this

  • ciara graham |
    06/12/10
    ciara graham

    i hate this msn wee need colour fir it then ahh wil love it (y]

  • king khan |
    09/12/10
    king khan

    I love this MSN

  • Tam |
    12/12/10
    Tam

    one minor prob wen u link facebook n msn to chat it works great except if your on facebook u get two chat windows opening

  • auguste |
    15/12/10
    auguste

    salut sa va bien

  • iuy9807 |
    20/12/10
    iuy9807

    bjhugh

  • rosie |
    25/12/10
    rosie

    how the fuk do i download it?

  • IS |
    26/12/10
    IS

    how do i dwnload it???????

  • Demi. |
    27/12/10
    Demi.

    i hate it! i much prefer the 2010 one which i cant find! so im stuck with this stupid nob of a thing!!!!

  • sean |
    27/12/10
    sean

    ok

  • zessica- |
    14/01/11
    zessica-

    I WANT TO DOWNLOAD IT ON THIS INSTANTLY! It seems that goood... :)

  • Luke |
    19/01/11
    Luke

    Any One Know How To Download 2009 Version Computer Wont Let Me?

  • andreas |
    20/01/11
    andreas

    messenger 2011 it`s not good i will daownload messenger 2009 but i don`t know any one know plise say to me thanks

  • lulu |
    21/01/11
    lulu

    i hate it :@

  • mr know it |
    22/01/11
    mr know it

    this version is awful, it doesnt support normal webcam chat, it now only allows video calls. Also its now so much hastle to change your name. The worst of all, the wide varity of people who use 3rd party software e.g. Msn plus cant be used.

  • ms |
    25/01/11
    ms

    looks nice but not compatible with vista - tried many times but always giving me error 800706ba fed up trying ...

  • Arta |
    31/01/11
    Arta

    i hate this msn.it s not working and the worst thing is I can t download another msn.

  • SSSS |
    19/02/11
    SSSS

    I wanttttt Windows Live Messenger 2010 backkkkkkk !!!!! plzz I need it cz i wanna see the nicknames and the nicknames are veryy important for me plz i need 2010 msn backkk :(

  • Fawaz |
    26/02/11
    Fawaz

    hi there

  • aa |
    01/03/11
    aa

    2011 sucks, sorry to say.

    Why was the handwrite function taken out? I really needed that. And why are lots of other functions removed? Even the phone calls are hard to make. What the hey. And there are even more ads?? Okkkaayyy.... rigghhhtt. It's even hard to install and uninstall... talk about hassle.

    Ditch this and install the 2009 one, it's 10000x better.

  • what the hey |
    01/03/11
    what the hey

    http://windows-live-messenger.en.softonic.com/

    windows live 2009 is better

  • now it's working |
    01/03/11
    now it's working

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=fad44098-8b73-4e06-96d4-d1eb70eacb44&displaylang=en install this to use handwrite... it's journal viewer

  • nano |
    03/03/11
    nano

    ewwww it's discustingggggg

  • omar |
    03/03/11
    omar

    ok

  • monissaheed |
    18/03/11
    monissaheed

    looooollllllllllllllll

  • Helina |
    19/03/11
    Helina

    It sux :@ !!!!! it doenst shows the display name . I need an old 2010 windows live messenger !!!!! I really2 need back !!!!

  • Lea |
    08/04/11
    Lea

    i dont like this new msn at all i think it should have stayed the way it was!! but of couse thats how shit works everythings always gotta be changed to make it better, but it always fucks it for ppl who like the old n say f**k the new!!!! like you cant even add cell phone numbers to your contacts on this one to send them texts!! i hate this windows live shit whatever happend to good old msn messanger!!

  • mohamed |
    17/04/11
    mohamed

    i do not know why i cannot download msn hotmail on my computer, please help me...

  • david |
    23/04/11
    david

    how to download messenger

  • Mr.Wang |
    23/05/11
    Mr.Wang

    Sucks !!!The new massenger and live mails (Alternatively call Windows Essential) its really sucks, i never ever met such errors while using windows essential and msn2011.Its always hanged,make computer enough slow and even hard to personalise the things,better windows live massenger 2010 back again, thats was great and easy to use,anyway, i HATE this new massenger2011.Even want to uninstall from my com,but still can't uninstall,pls do let me know how to uninstall if someone knows, Thanks.

  • Heinrich H. |
    12/06/11
    Heinrich H.

    Läßt sich nicht downloaden

  • abd alnaser |
    08/07/11
    abd alnaser

    god

  • firas |
    08/07/11
    firas

    ilove this messenger

  • yentl verstraeten |
    16/07/11
    yentl verstraeten

    hallo,

    ik wil nieuwe msn a.u.b

  • oovoo |
    09/09/11
    oovoo

    no saben decir como se decarga

  • daniel |
    12/09/11
    daniel

    i like it becose it get me closer tu my frends an my love one"ns

  • manoj h jain |
    23/09/11
    manoj h jain

    i wan to dawonlord windowsxp for face book and aid frindens whom i like to talk

  • ljupco miloseski |
    21/02/12
    ljupco miloseski

    i like it becose it get me closer tu my frends an my love one"ns

  • Mohamed |
    21/04/12
    Mohamed

    i like it becose it get me closer to world

23/04/14
Your avatar
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. Next